Interesting link about the Guidonian Hand

I am somewhat relieved that I really was reading  ut re mi instead of the modern  do re mi and that the hand actually made more sense than I orginally gave myself credit for.  Stanford University has a great article entitled Understanding the Art of Memorization through a Medieval Singing Tool with a video.  I’m having a little trouble making out what he’s saying, but that’s just my hearing and headphones I believe.  It can be found at http://humanexperience.stanford.edu/guidonianhand 

 

Leave a Reply

